2/17/09 - American Nephrology Nurses' Association Announces National, Regional Election Results

Contact: Linda Alexander
856-256-2300, ext. 2411 • linda@ajj.com

American Nephrology Nurses’ Association Announces
National, Regional Election Results

PITMAN, NJ – Donna Painter, MS, RN, CNN, has been elected national president-elect of the American Nephrology Nurses’ Association (ANNA) for 2009-10. Painter’s responsibilities will include serving on the National Board of Directors (BOD) and as liaison to assigned committees. Painter is regional vice president, East Texas, Fresenius Medical Care, Corsicana, TX.

Along with Painter, additional officers were elected to serve on ANNA’s BOD for 2009-10 (listed below). The new officers will assume their respective positions at the conclusion of ANNA’s 40th National Symposium in San Diego, CA, April 26-29, 2009.

National and Regional Officers

Molly Cahill, MSN, NP-C, APRN, BC, RN, CNN, was elected as ANNA’s national treasurer and will be responsible for overseeing ANNA’s financial matters, including budget preparation, chapter/regional reporting, and ensuring sound fiscal management for the association. Cahill is a nephrology nurse practitioner, Arms, Dodge, Robinson, Wilber & Crouch, Inc., Kansas City, MO. 

In the regional elections, Kim Alleman, MS, APRN, FNP-BC, CNN-NP, was elected to serve as Northeast vice president. Alleman is a nurse practitioner, Hartford Hospital Transplant Program, Hartford, CT. Sylvia Moe, BSN, RN, CNN, was elected to serve as North Central vice president. Moe is a self care/home training nurse, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN.

Regional vice presidents are responsible for managing ANNA’s day-to-day activities within a defined geographic area. They serve on ANNA’s BOD and act as liaisons between the BOD and local, regional and national members, as well as committees. Regional vice presidents are also assigned special projects.

Also in the regional elections, members elected four other leaders to be chapters coordinator-elect (CCE). CCEs coordinate and supervise regional chapter activities, report to regional vice presidents and serve as members on appropriate committees.

Paula Richards, MSN, RN, CNN, was re-elected Northeast (CCE). Richards is a clinical manager, Fresenius Medical Care, Norristown, PA.

Charla Litton, BSN, RN, CCRN, CNRN, CDN, CNN, was elected Southeast CCE. Litton is a nurse manager, LSU Health Sciences Center – Shreveport, Shreveport, LA.

Sharon Bunnell, BSN, RN, CNN, was re-elected North Central CCE. Bunnell is a diabetes and CKD program manager, Primaris, Columbia, MO.

Niki Kobes, RN, BSN, CNN, was elected Western CCE. Kobes is a clinical manager, Fresenius Medical Care, Anchorage, AK.

2009-10 ANNA Board of Directors

With the elections complete, ANNA’s 2009-10 National Board of Directors is composed of:

  • President: Donna Bednarski, MSN, APRN, BC, CNN, CNP, Canton, MI
  • President-Elect: Donna Painter, MS, RN, CNN, Corsicana, TX
  • Immediate Past President: Sue Cary, MN, ANP, NP, RN, CNN, Baton Rouge, LA
  • Treasurer: Molly Cahill, APRN-BC, ANP-C, RN, CNN, Kansas City, MO
  • Secretary: Rowena Elliott, PhD, MSN, RN, CNN, BC, CLNC, Port Gibson, MS
  • Northeast Vice President: Kim Alleman, MS, RN, FNP-BC, APRN, CNN, Lebanon, CT
  • Southeast Vice President: Loretta Jackson Brown, MSN, RN, CNN, Lawrenceville, GA
  • North Central Vice President: Sylvia Moe, BSN, RN, CNN, Rochester, MN
  • Western Vice President: Nancy Pierce, BSN, RN, CNN, Elliston, MT
  • Executive Director: Mike Cunningham, Pitman, NJ

For more information about ANNA, visit the association’s Web site, www.annanurse.org, or contact the National Office at East Holly Avenue, Box 56, Pitman, NJ 08071-0056; phone: 888-600-2662 or 856-256-2320; e-mail: anna@ajj.com.

# # #

ANNA is a professional nursing association with over 12,000 members. Its mission is to advance nephrology nursing practice and positively influence outcomes for individuals with kidney disease through advocacy, scholarship, and excellence.